



1st CYPRUS ENERGY SYMPOSIUM

"Cyprus' s Natural Resources and the New Energy Scene

in the Eastern Mediterranean"

Nicosia 26th January 2012

Cyprus Hilton Hotel,

Organized by IENE and Financial Media Way (FMW) Under the Auspices of CCCI

SYMPOSIUM PROGRAMME

- 08:30-09:00 Registration
- 09:00-11:30 <u>1st Session</u>
 - > Introductory Remarks by the organizers
 - Dr. John Desypris, Chairman of IENE
 - Mr. losif losif, Managing Director of FMW
 - Mr. Fidias Pilidis, Chairman of CCCI
 - Symposium Opening by H.E. Mr. Demitris Christofias, President of the Republic of Cyprus
 - > Interventions by MP's from various Parliamentary Parties of Cyprus
 - Keynote Speech by Ms. Praxoula Antoniadou, Minister, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism of Cyprus.

- Keynote Speech by Mr. John Maniatis, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Environment, Energy & Climate Change (YPEKA), Greece
- Introductory Remarks by Mr. George Siammas, Cyprus Energy Regulatory Authority (CERA)

11:30-11:45 Coffee Break

11:45-14:30 <u>2nd Session</u>

The Search for Natural Gas Deposits in Cyprus, the New Energy Mix and Geopolitical Issues

Chair: Costis Stambolis, Executive Director, IENE

Participants:

- Mrs Marilena Delenta, Energy Operator (Natural Gas), Cyprus Energy Regulatory Authority (CERA)
- Dr. Solon Kassinis, Director, Energy Service, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Cyprus
- Mr. John Z Tomich, Vice President and General Manager of Noble Energy Inc
- Mr. Harry Sachinis, Chairman and Managing Director, Public Gas
 Corporation of Greece
- Mr. Costas Ioannou, Executive Chairman, Public Gas Corporation of Cyprus
- Prof. John Mazis, Professor of Geopolitics, Athens University.
- Dr. Constantinos Nicolaou, Petroleum Geologist, Member of IENE's Board of Directors.
- Dr. Photos Ja. Photiades, Chairman, Photos Photiades Breweries Ltd

14:30-15:30 Buffet Lunch

15:30-17:00 <u>3rd Session</u>

The Electricity Market in Cyprus and the Region

Chair: Mr. Nicos Papadopoulos, Executive Director, Corporate Development, Electricity Authority of Cyprus

Participants:

- Mr. Costas Eliopoulos, Vide President, Cyprus Regulatory Energy Authority (RAEC)
- Mr. Charis Thrassou, Chairman, Electricity Authority of Cyprus
- Mr. Christos Christodoulidis, Manager TSO Cyprus
- Representative from an Independent Power Producer

17:00-17:15 Coffee Break

17:15-19:00 <u>4th Session</u>

Renewable Energy Sources (RES), Cogeneration and Energy Efficiency Chair: Mr. John Chatjivasiliadis, Mechanical – Electrical Engineer, Secretary

General, IENE

Participants:

- Representative of the Energy Institute of Cyprus
- Dr. George Georgiou, University of Cyprus
- Mr. Yanos Michopoulos, Executive Director, Vestas Hellas S.A.
- Mr. Costas Thoefylaktos, Chairman H.A.S.H.P and member of IENE's Executive Committee
- 19:00-20:00 Round Table Discussion Chair Mr. Iosif Iosif, Managing Director of FMW

20:30 Cocktail Reception

21:00-23:00 Symposium Dinner Guest Speaker: Mr. Andreas Hliadis, CEO, Bank of Cyprus Group